AAAL 2014 Award

Happy to announce that I am one of the sixteen composers, who received one of the American Academy of Arts and Letters annual awards.

The American Academy of Arts and Letters has announced the sixteen recipients of this year’s awards in music, which total $175,000.

Arts and Letters Awards in Music

Kati Agócs, Daron Hagen, Anthony Korf, and Marjorie Merryman will each receive a $7500 Arts and Letters Award in Music, which honors outstanding artistic achievement and acknowledges the composer who has arrived at his or her own voice. Each will receive an additional $7500 toward the recording of one work.

Walter Hinrichsen Award

Scott Wheeler will receive the Walter Hinrichsen Award for the publication of a work by a gifted composer. This award was established by the C. F. Peters Corporation, music publishers, in 1984.

Wladimir and Rhoda Lakond Prize

Mikael Karlsson will receive the Wladimir and Rhoda Lakond Prize of $10,000 for an exceptional mid-career composer.

Goddard Lieberson Fellowships

Two Goddard Lieberson Fellowships of $15,000, endowed in 1978 by the CBS Foundation, are given to mid-career composers of exceptional gifts. This year they will go to A. J. McCaffrey and Ju Ri Seo.

Charles Ives Fellowships

Harmony Ives, the widow of Charles Ives, bequeathed to the academy the royalties of Charles Ives’s music, which has enabled the academy to give the Ives awards in composition since 1970. Two Charles Ives Fellowships, of $15,000 each, will be awarded to Nathan Shields and Dan Tepfer.

Charles Ives Scholarships

William David Cooper, David Kirkland Garner, Bálint Karosi, Jeremy Podgursky, Daniel Schlosberg, and Nina C. Young will receive Charles Ives Scholarships of $7500, given to composition students of great promise.

The winners were selected by a committee of academy members: Joan Tower (chairman), Samuel Adler, Martin Bresnick, Mario Davidovsky, John Harbison, Stephen Hartke, Tania León, and Tobias Picker. Candidates for music awards are nominated by the 250 members of the academy.

The awards will be presented at the academy’s annual ceremonial in May.

Click here for more info.